Nipissing celebrates Alumni Award recipients

North Bay, ON – The Nipissing University Alumni Advisory Board (NUAAB) is set to honour five exceptional individuals with Alumni Awards during this year’s virtual celebration. Each day this week, Nipissing University will feature one of its 2020 Alumni Award recipients on its social media channels.

The Alumni Awards celebrate the accomplishments of members of Nipissing University's global community of alumni who represent an inspiring account of positive social, cultural and economic change in the world.

“Our Alumni Awards provide us the opportunity to recognize and celebrate the remarkable alumni and community members who exemplify what it means to be a Laker,” said NUAAB President, Lisa Snider. “Each of the award recipients have not only demonstrated success in their career, but have had a significant and positive impact on their communities and those around them.”

The Dr. James Jamieson Influential Alumni Award, presented to a graduate whose dedication and leadership has influenced significant change and prosperity within their community, will be awarded to Hariett Madigan, an active social and environmental champion in North Bay.

The Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award is presented to an alumnus whose achievement and excellence in their endeavours have distinguished them as a valued leader. This award is presented to Dr. Thomsen D'Hont, who practices family medicine in his hometown of Yellowknife, NWT and is a former Lakers athlete.

The Rising Star Alumni Award is presented to a recent graduate of Nipissing University who has demonstrated significant achievements on a professional, community or volunteer basis. Cameron Ghent, a dedicated advocate for marginalized individuals, is the recipient of this award.

The Honorary Alumni Award recognizes friends of Nipissing University for outstanding service, commitment and contribution, past or present, to the University. This award is presented to Dr. Denyse Lafrance Horning, a full-time marketing professor with Nipissing’s School of Business since 2007.

The newly created Philanthropy Alumni Award is presented to an alumnus or champion of Nipissing University who is making significant contributions to improve their community through their generosity, dedication, commitment and service. The inaugural recipient of this award is Cindy Karugia, who has dedicated herself to amplifying the voices of young womxn and girls and advocating for gender equality.

For full biographies and interviews with each of this year’s recipients, visit


Meghan Venasse
Manager, Communications
Nipissing University
705-474-3450 ext. 4615